The Mighty One Leads Melrose to Title…Jackson Named Mr. Basketball


The showdown Version 5.0 lived up to it's billing. In Orange Mound the celebration could and will last all weekend.

Memphis Melrose behind 35 points from "Mighty" Chris Jones (Melrose) rallied past defending state champion White Station 75-70 to capture the Class AAA state championship.

Jones led a furious fourth quarter Golden Wildcat frenzy and for his accomplishments was named as the tournament MVP.

Adonis Thomas (Melrose) completed a sterling state tournament run scoring 19 points in the victory.

Joe Jackson (White Station) led the Spartans with 22 points and completed one of the most storied high school careers in the history of our state. Joe, I will miss you.

Chipping in for the Spartans were Julian Burton (White Station) and Harry Green (White Station) both of whom added 11 in the loss.

Joining the mighty one on the all-tournament squad for AAA were Jackson, Thomas, Andre Hollins (White Station), John Taylor (Beech), Rico White (Bearden), Telvin James (Clarksville Northeast), Nino Johnson (White Station) and Ty Greene (Bearden).

Closing out the evenings festivities, Jackson was named as the recipient of the coveted Mr. Basketball award for Class AAA. Jackson was selected over Adonis Thomas and Casey Prather (Jackson Northside).