St. George’s Captures State Title….Tarwater Nabs Mr. Basketball



Asa Toney (St. George's) dropped 17 points and captured MVP honors as the Gryphons ran past USN to capture the DII/Class A state tourney 56-41.


St. George's began to pull away after the half behind Toney and sophomore shooter Alec Mulvihill (St. George's), who finished with 16 and overcame a 24 point effort from Mr. Basketball finalist Meiko Lyles (USN).


Joining Toney on the All-Tournament team were Mulvihill, Lyles, Dwight Tarwater (Knoxville Webb), Cooper Green (St. George's), Donovan Whiteside (Knoxville Webb) and Jonathan Coleman (St. George's).

After the game the TSSAA announced the winner of the DII/Class A Mr. Basketball among the three finalists Lyles, Tarwater and John Ross Glover (USJ).

The winner: Dwight Tarwater (Knoxville Webb).