Ridgeway Seniors Lead Roadrunners to AAA ‘ship

The reaction was awesome.

The smile says it all.

Senior Jason Jones showed true class and friendship when he jumped for joy and embraced classmate Sampson Carter after he was named MVP of the AAA state tourney.

The senior duo scored 24 (Jones) and 22 (Carter) respectively and helped lead Ridgeway to a Class AAA title victory over district foe White Station 68-56.

Jones, who has signed with UTEP, was very eloquent in his statement following the game professing his admiration for Carter and his love for all his teammates on this special day.

The win was the fourth of the season for Ridgeway over the young Spartans, but much will be gained by this lesson and White Station is sure to become a regular visitor to the Murphy Center for many years to come.

Sophomore Joe Jackson led the Spartans with 17 and Ferrakohn Hall added 16.


All-Tournament Team (Class AAA)

Sampson Carter-Ridgeway (MVP)

Tyrone Caldwell-Clarksville

Kerry Hammonds-Siegel

Joe Jackson-White Station

Jason Jones-Ridgeway

Dominique McDuffie-Red Bank

Ferrakohn Hall-White Station

Dominique Shellman-Ridgeway

Tim Benford-Red Bank

Tyler Cutter-Siegel