Tennessee State Tournament Scoring and Insight…..Finally

The Tennessee High School state tournament came to a close last weekend with some exciting action, buzzer beaters, record setting performances and some surprises and some not surprises. Lets take a look at what went down.





Class A Top Scoring Performances

Tyreke Key (Clay County) 54pts vs. Loretto

Tyreke Key (Clay County) 40pts vs. Harriman

Tyreke Key (Clay County) 34pts vs. Grace Christian

Grant Ledford (Grace Christian) 34pts vs. Clay County

Caden Mills (Van Buren County) 30pts vs. Columbia Academy

Hayden Bingham (Harriman) 29pts vs. Clay County

Grant Ledford (Grace Christian) 28pts vs. Humboldt

Joe Pace (Harriman) 24pts vs. Columbia Academy

Nygil Arms (Columbia Academy) 23pts vs. Van Buren County

Nygil Arms (Columbia Academy) 23pts vs. Harriman

Isaiah McClain (Harriman) 18pts vs. Mitchell

Luke Childress (Loretto) 17pts vs. Clay County

Blake Kincaid (Columbia Academy) 17pts vs. Van Buren County

Isaiah McClain (Harriman) 17pts vs. Columbia Academy

Gavin Silk (Clay County) 17pts vs. Grace Christian


Harriman emerges as the Class A champion with a big win over Clay County. Hayden Bingham (Harriman) drops 29 in the title game victory despite a 40 spot from tournament MVP Tyreke Key (Clay County).

Key destroyed every record at the state tournament including total points with 128, most points in a season besting the previous mark of Tony Delk with 1,383 points finishing his career with 3,237 points.

Key was named MVP, here is the remainder of the All-Tournament squad Grant Ledford (Grace Christian), Isaiah McClain (Harriman), Joe Pace (Harriman), Gavin Silk (Clay County), Hayden Bingham (Harriman), Dawson Russell (Clay County), Nygil Arms (Columbia Academy), Seth Ogletree (Clay County) and John Johnson (Harriman).



Class AA Top Scoring Performances

Dedric Boyd (Haywood) 33pts vs. Brainerd

Bo Hodges (Maplewood) 26pts vs. Haywood

Ruot Monyyong (White's Creek) 25pts vs. Sheffield

Tristan Jarrett (Haywood) 23pts vs. Brainerd

Kavion Hancock (Sheffield) 22pts vs. White's Creek

Boo Hodges (Maplewood) 22pts vs. Sullivan East

Kentrell Evans (Brainerd) 21pts vs. Haywood

Luke Smith (Knoxville Catholic) 20pts vs. White's Creek

Jessie Walker (Brainerd) 20pts vs. Haywood

Brock Jancek (Knoxville Catholic) 19pts vs. Macon County

Bo Hodges (Maplewood) 18pts vs. Knoxville Catholic

Shuravian Hines (Haywood) 17pts vs. Maplewood

Dennis Stallings (White's Creek) 17pts vs. Knoxville Catholic


Maplewood brings the title back to Metro Nashville for the first time in several years with a hard fought contest against Knoxville Catholic. Bo Hodges (Maplewood) was selected as the MVP for his consistent performances throughout the weekend.

Catholic advanced to the title game with a half-court buzzer beater from leader Luke Smith (Knoxville Catholic).

Joining Hodges on the All-Tournament squad were Dedric Boyd (Haywood), Tristan Jarrett (Haywood), Ruot Monyyong (White's Creek), R.J. Wilcox (Maplewood), Brock Jancek (Knoxville Catholic), Hassan Littlepage (Maplewood), Chase Kuerschen (Knoxville Catholic), Luke Smith (Knoxville Catholic) and Bobo Hodges (Maplewood).




Class AAA Top Scoring Performances

Carlos Marshall (Southwind) 27pts vs. Independence

Carlos Marshall (Southwind) 24pts vs. Oakland

Grayson Murphy (Independence) 24pts vs. Southwind

Chandler Lawson (Memphis East) 19pts vs. Oak Ridge

Chandler Lawson (Memphis East) 18pts vs. Southwind

Tyshawn Young (Oak Ridge) 18pts vs. Brentwood

Mac James (Independence) 17pts vs. Bearden

Chandler Lawson (Memphis East) 17pts vs. East Hamilton


An all West Tennessee, specifically All Memphis final, highlighted the action in the largest classification in the state. Memphis East defended their crown defeating Southwind for their second consecutive Class AAA state title.

Oak Ridge took East to the limit resulting a close 63-60 victory for the Mustangs who relied heavily on the exploits of tourney MVP Chandler Lawson (Memphis East).

Joining Lawson on the glitter squad were Grayson Murphy (Independence), Tyshawn Young (Oak Ridge), Tee Higgins (Oak Ridge), Alex Lomax (Memphis East), Christian Jones (Southwind), Carlos Marshall (Southwind), T.J. Moss (Memphis East), Mark Freeman (Southwind) and Malcolm Dandridge (Memphis East).