Team Matthews Takes Rocky Top Fall League Championship

Championship Saturday is in the books as Team Matthews claimed the title by remaining unbeaten in their victory over Team Coffin in the title contest. Lets see how the day went.






Team Sharpe 77

Team Driscoll 69


Gunnar Gibson (Seymour) and Austin Arrington (Seymour) scored 29 and 24 respectively as Team Sharpe emerged victorious with a 77-69 victory over Team Driscoll at Championship Saturday.

The effort offset an outstanding scoring display from Austin Cox (Knoxville Webb) who finished with a game high 39 markers.

Gibson was sensational scoring majority of his points in the second half as Team Sharpe garnered the late lead and held on for the win. Steffan Schroeder (Gatlinburg-Pittman) had a big day himself for Team Sharpe notching 18 points in the win.

Ryan Henry (Knoxville Catholic) added 12 for Team Driscoll while Cameron Turner (Farragut) finished with 10.



Team Smith 68

Team Lee 58


Zak Carter (Hardin Valley) notched 23 points as Team Smith closed the season on a high note besting Team Lee 68-58 at Championship Saturday on the campus of MaryvilleCollege.

Carter, who is the league scoring champion, was a consistent force this entire season. Joining him in the scorebook were Kenny White (Knoxville Halls) and Deonta Bizzle-Brown (Hardin Valley) who scored 19 and 16 respectively.

Bizzle-Brown was equally effective on the defensive end blocking several shot and snatching double digit boards.

Taylor Hawkins (Sequoyah) led Team Lee with 18 markers followed closely by Lucas Campbell (CAK) with 12 and Chris Cook (Knoxville West) with 10.



Team Jackson 61

Team Riddick 59


John Woodruff (Carter) scored off a designed inbounds play as Team Jackson snuck by a determined Team Riddick 61-59 at Championship Saturday.

The bucket offset an outstanding performance from Isaac Edmiston (Maryville) who logged a season high 30 points for Team Riddick.

Andre Wilson (Austin East) led the scoring for Team Jackson with 22 followed closely by Jordan Bowden (Carter) with 20. Woodruff added 10 including the game winner.

Nico White (Alcoa) closed out a very successful fall league with 18 points.



Team Feltner 54

Team Watts 53


In another low scoring but highly competitive affair, Team Feltner got 12 points from John Fulkerson (Dobyns-Bennett) and needed every one of them as they slipped past Team Watts 54-53 at Championship Saturday.

Fulkerson was assisted in the scoring column by John Bryant (Jefferson County) and Brice Cusick (Jefferson County) with 10 each.

Caleb Hayes (Anderson County) and Chase Hamilton (Fulton) took scoring honors for Team Watts with 13 each.



Team Burns 74

Team Garman 66


Levi Woods (Meigs County) scored 29 points as Team Burns outlasted Team Garman 74-66 at Championship Saturday.

Woods was outstanding making huge buckets as the two squads went back and forth in the second half.

Devin Sibley (Karns) and Isaac Merian (Oak Ridge) kept Team Garman close throughout making tough shots in what was the most physical contest of the day.

Sibley finished with 23 while Merian added 20 in the tough loss.

Sam Gregory (Bradley Central) and Kendrick Thompson (Cleveland) added 12 for Team Burns.

Brad McCurdy (Bradley Central) added 10 points and some key assists in the victory.



Team Matthews 65

Team Coffin 58


Tyler Yoder (Stone Memorial) scored 16 as Team Matthews finished the season unblemished snatching the Rocky Top Fall League championship with a 65-58 win over Team Coffin.

Yoder was assisted in the scoring column by his running buddy Justin Simmons (Stone Memorial) who finished with 14.

Tyler Nichols (Elizabethton) took game high scoring honors with 22 points. Nichols was a standout on defense the entire duration of the league.

Zeke Clark (Elizabethton) closed out strong after a slow start to league action and finished with 11 markers.

Grayson Ball (Sullivan North) finished with his usual steady 10.



Top Scorers (Championship Saturday)


Austin Cox (Knoxville Webb) 39pts

Isaac Edmiston (Maryville) 30pts

Gunnar Gibson (Seymour) 29pts

Levi Woods (Meigs County) 29pts

Austin Arrington (Seymour) 24pts

Zak Carter (Hardin Valley) 23pts

Devin Sibley (Karns) 23pts

Tyler Nichols (Elizabethton) 22pts

Andre Wilson (Austin East) 22pts

Jordan Bowden (Carter) 20pts

Isaac Merian (Oak Ridge) 20pts



All-League Teams and MVP will be posted on Thursday.