West Takes 10th Annual BCAT All-Star Game; Abernathy Nets MVP

The 10th annual BCAT All-Star game tipped off last Saturday before a boisterous crowd at Blackman High School in Murfreesboro. The new format allow for teams representing the East, Middle, West and Memphis areas with two semi-final games and a championship. Lets see how the action flowed.





Kyree Cunningham (Munford) led four double digit scorers with 15 as the Memphis All-Stars advanced to the title game of the BCAT All-Star game with an 85-71 win over their compatriots from the Middle portion of the state.


Antavion Collum (Bartlett) and Ashton Smith (Southwind) added 14 each in the victory while Jeff Walker (Bartlett) pitched in 13.


K.J. Johnson (Marshall County) led Middle Tennessee with 15. The two-time reigning Class AA Mr. Basketball was joined in the scoring column by Deron Perry (Riverdale) with 14 and Julius Dixon (Fayetteville) with 12 markers.


The remainder of the Middle Tennessee roster included:

Alec Kegler (Northeast)

Nate Bloedorn (Nolensville)

Elijah Cobb (Riverdale)

Caleb Grimes (East Nashville)

Dontavious Brown (Columbia Central)

Sky Polk (Columbia Academy)

Trey Trotter (Summertown)







Anthony Jones (Humboldt) put on a show for the folks with several crowd pleasing dunks en route to 15 points as the West All-Stars distanced themselves from the East All-Stars 73-55.


Dontae Williamson (Sacred Heart) added 11 for the West as every player on the roster scored in the game.


Justin Headrick (Stone Memorial) and Jaden Jamison (Oakland) were the one double digit scorers for the East with 10 points each.


The remainder of the East Tennessee roster included:

Connor Jordan (Morristown East)

Marcus Smith (Oak Ridge)

Makai Olden (Morristown West(

Blake Atwood (Johnson County)

Dominique Oggs (Sweetwater)

Cameron Welch (Macon County)

Anthony Watkins (McCallie)






R.J. Abernathy (Humboldt) dropped a game high 18 and took home MVP honors as West Tennessee bested Memphis 74-68 in the championship game of the 10th annual BCAT All-Star game.


A hard fought contest throughout, the intensity level was high as each team certainly wanting to be called the champion.


Jones again had a outstanding day with 10 markers for the West.


Christian Campbell (Ridgeway) led Memphis with 14 points while Smith and Sylvester Thompson (Bartlett) added 11 and 10 respectively in the tough loss.


Final scoring numbers for both squads:

West Tennessee

R.J. Abernathy (Humboldt) 18pts

Anthony Jones (Humboldt) 10pts

Cortez Thomas (Chester County) 9pts

Jamari Bostic (Ripley) 9pts

Phenix Street (Bradford) 8pts

Dontae Williamson (Sacred Heart) 7pts

Jermaine Bonds (Ripley) 5pts

Hunter Klutts (Millington Central) 3pts

Jusino Prather (Chester County) 2pts

Tarreq Williams (Sacred Heart) 2pts


Memphis All-Stars

Christian Campbell (Ridgeway) 14pts

Ashton Smith (Southwind) 11pts

Sylvester Thompson (Bartlett)

Antavion Collum (Bartlett) 9pts

Jeff Walker (Bartlett) 8pts

Kylan Cunningham (Munford) 7pts

Wynne Brown (Bartlett) 6pts

Kyree Cunningham (Munford) 2pts








Tennessee Prep Hoops All-Region Teams (Regions 7AAA-8AAA)

The best time of the year is upon us and things are looking up everywhere. Thanks to everyone who sent their well wishes for me and my family. Lets get back to the business of hoops now and our annual Tennessee Prep Hoops All-Region squads. There will be a 10 man All-Region team with an MVP, plus 7 honorable mention players.



Region 7AAA

District 13AAA Regular Season Champions: Dyer County

District 13AAA Tournament Champions: Munford

Projected 13AAA District MVP: Trey Swift (Dyer County)

District 14AAA Regular Season Champions: Bartlett

District 14AAA Tournament Champions: Bartlett

Projected 14AAA District MVP: Antavion Collum (Bartlett)


Region 7AAA All-Region Team

Antavion Collum (Bartlett) MVP

Bruce Guy (Cordova)

Anthony Smith (Brighton)

Trey Swift (Dyer County)

Kylan Cunningham (Munford)

Sam Wiseman (Arlington)

Jalen Brown (Liberty Tech)

Jadarius Carter (Bolton)

Sylvester Thompson (Bartlett)

Julian Bond (Dyer County)


Honorable Mention

Wynne Brown (Bartlett)

Kylee Cunningham (Munford)

Phillip Dotson (Arlington)

Markelrion Hines (Cordova)

Jeff Walker (Bartlett)

Landon Winters (Munford)

Ethan Tolbert (Dyer County)




Region 8AAA

District 15AAA Regular Season Champions: Southwind

District 15AAA Tournament Champions: Houston

Projected 15AAA District MVP: Ashton Smith (Southwind)

District 16AAA Regular Season Champions: Memphis East

District 16AAA Tournament Champions: Whitehaven

Projected 16AAA District MVP: James Wiseman (Memphis East)


Region 8AAA All-Region Team

James Wiseman (Memphis East) MVP

Matthew Murrell (Whitehaven)

Brandon Brown (White Station)

Malcolm Dandridge (Memphis East)

Ashton Smith (Southwind)

Kendall Thomas (Ridgeway)

Nick Torrence (Houston)

Kameron Jones (Southwind)

Kavion McClain (Whitehaven)

T.J. Madlock (Houston)


Honorable Mention

Antonio Thomas (Memphis East)

Will Wilson (Ridgeway)

Ashton Taylor (Southwind)

Dontae Harris (Kirby)

Daniel Owens (Whitehaven)

Zander Yates (Houston)

Davon Barnes (White Station)

BCAT All-Star Game Rosters

The annual BCAT All-Star game tips this Saturday at Blackman High School in Murfreesboro. Teams will be represented in Memphis, West Tennessee, Middle Tennessee and East Tennessee.


A new format will see two semi-final games, played on the main court and the auxiliary gym, with the winners playing for the crown at 4:30. There will also be girls games with the identical format.


Game times are:

12:00 Girl's Semi-Finals

1:30 Boy's Semi-Finals

3:00 Girls Finals and Consolation

4:30 Boy's Finals and Consolation


Here are the rosters which could be subject to change:


BCAT Memphis

Antavion Collum (Bartlett)

Wynne Brown Jr. (Bartlett)

Jeff Walker (Bartlett)

Sylvester Thompson (Bartlett)

Chandler Lawson (Wooddale)

Luke Howard (Harding Academy)

Brandon Brown (White Station)

Ashton Smith (Southwind)

Will Wilson (Ridgeway)

Kylan Cunningham (Munford)


BCAT West Tennessee

R.J. Abernathy (Humboldt)

Jermaine Bonds (Ripley)

Jamari Bostic (Ripley)

Demarious Boyd (Haywood)

Anthony Jones (Humboldt)

Hunter Klutts (Millington Central)

Jusino Prather (Chester County)

Phenix Street (Bradford)

Cortez Thomas (Chester County)

Tarreq Williams (Sacred Heart)

Dontae Williamson (Sacred Heart)


BCAT Middle Tennessee

K.J. Johnson (Marshall County)

Alec Kegler (Northeast)

Julius Dixon (Fayetteville)

Nate Bloedorn (Nolensville)

Elijah Cobb (Riverdale)

Caleb Grimes (East Nashville)

Deron Perry (Riverdale)

Dontavious Brown (Columbia Central)


BCAT East Tennessee

Marcus Smith (Oak Ridge)

Justin Headrick (Stone Memorial)

Cameron Welch (Macon County)

Blake Atwood (Johnson County)

Connor Jordan (Morristown East)

Dominique Oggs (Sweetwater)

Anthony Watkins (McCallie)

Jaden Jamison (Oakland)

Trey Trotter (Summertown)